Food for a Restless Mind

Easy, Healthy-ish Cinnamon Mug cake

I love cake. Just needed to put that out there. And with the proliferation of excellent microwave mug cake recipes on the internet, it takes most of my self-control to prevent myself from living on various mug cakes. They’re so easy, and yummy, and it only takes minutes to satisfy your cake-y cravings. Seriously. I have a whole collection dedicated to them on my Yummly account. One of my favourite mug cake recipes is this one from Samantha at Five Heart Home. Fluffy, sugary, cinnamon-y, deliciousness. In an attempt to find an excuse to eat them more regularly I’ve been fiddling with the recipe a bit to make it healthier/more nutritious.

Food for a Restless Mind

When I first decided to put this on my blog I was searching for the perfect container to best show of the amazing-ness of this mug cake. But I believe in telling the truth as much as possible, so instead of a beautiful mug or mason jar, my pictures show the cake as I make it: in a Pyrex jug, so I can mix it and cook it in the same container. It’s faster, easier, and involves less washing up. Unfortunately you lose the delightful layered effect of the original, but I’m willing to sacrifice the looks of my food in exchange for less washing up.

food for a restless mind

Add all of the dry ingredients to your mixing bowl/Pyrex jug, and mix them together with a whisk. Make sure everything is properly combined. Add all of the liquid ingredients and mix thoroughly making sure there are no little pockets of flour.

food for a restless mind

If you’re topping the cake with cinnamon sugar, do that now. Then pop it in the microwave for 1:30-2 minutes (our microwave’s screen doesn’t work properly, but I assume it’s set to high), or until the center springs back when you poke it (be careful it’s probably hot). Now just grab a spoon and dig in. See it’s so easy it’s a miracle I’m not eating one for every meal.

Food for a Restless Mind

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup of wholemeal flour
  • 2 tbsp of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp of raw sugar
  • 1/4 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • 2 tbsp of coconut oil, melted (or room temperature if you live somewhere warm)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • Optional: cinnamon sugar for topping.
Method
  1. Add all of the dry ingredients to your mixing bowl/Pyrex jug, and mix them together with a whisk. Make sure everything is properly combined.
  2. Add all of the liquid ingredients and mix thoroughly making sure there are no little pockets of flour.
  3. If you’re topping the cake with cinnamon sugar, do that now.
  4. Pop it in the microwave for 1:30-2 minutes (our microwave’s screen doesn’t work properly, but I assume it’s set to high), or until the center springs back when you poke it (be careful it’s probably hot).
  5. Now just grab a spoon and dig in.

 

Leave a Reply

