Mixed berry and peach crumble

I was in the mood for something sweet and easy the other day. My usual go to is apple crumble. Unfortunately we didn’t have any apples in the houses, fresh or tinned, so I had to think of something else. Unable to get the idea of some kind of crumble out of my head I searched around for another recipe similar enough to satisfy me. When I found this one by Ashley over at Spoonful of Flavor I couldn’t resist.

I didn’t have any fresh berries (on the rare occasion that you can find them in Tonga they are prohibitively expensive) so instead I went for frozen berries, and when I realised I didn’t quite have enough I added some tinned peaches as well. Nothing was going to stop me from making this crumble. Unfortunately I don’t own any of the lovely mini cast iron skillets used in the original recipe so I just made mine in a boring old Pyrex baking dish. But I still think it turned out alright.

Food for a restless mind

Like all crumble-like deserts it was so easy to make, and so yummy. This is my humble offering to this week’s Fiesta Friday. Thanks to Jhuls and Susanne for co-hosting this week’s Fiesta.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of roughly chopped, or slivered, almonds
  • 1/2 cup of wholemeal oats
  • 4 tbsp of cold butter, chopped into pieces
  • 1 tbsp of honey
  • 2 cups of frozen mixed berries, and/or tinned peaches

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°C.
  2. Put the almonds plus two tablespoons of oats into a food processor and blitz until the are reduced to a fine meal.
  3. Add the rest of the oats, the chopped up butter, and honey to the food processor and blitz until a chunky mixture forms.
  4. Evenly spread your fruit mixture along the bottom of whatever baking dish you’re using.
  5. Spoon the almond crumble mixture over the top as evenly as possible, then pop the dish in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until the top is golden brown.
5 thoughts on “Mixed berry and peach crumble

Leave a Reply

