food for a restless mind

Sweet and sour stir-fry fish

Super quick dinner post because I’ve been busy. Tonight we made sweet and sour stir-fry tuna.

 

wp-1460702667836.jpeg

I used this sweet and sour sauce recipe because it looked easy (and it was). I made up the sauce while Mum diced up a bunch of whatever veges she could find in the fridge (carrot, capsicum, onion, bok choy, water spinach, alfalfa sprouts, pineapple). I cooked half the onion and the tuna first. Then I added in the carrot, capsicum, onion, and alfalfa sprouts. Then I turned the heat down and added the water spinach, bok choy, pineapple and sauce. I cooked the mixture until the book choy wilted and then it’s done. If I’d had more time I would have made special fried rice to go with it, but I didn’t so I just had the vege sauce mixture. Either is yummy. It’s even easy and quick.

Ingredients

Sauce
1 cup pineapple juice
1⁄3 cup water
3 tablespoons vinegar
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1⁄2 cup packed brown sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch

Stirfry mix
400g tuna steak (you could use any fish you can get your hand on, or even chicken)
2 carrots chopped
3 capsicum
3 bunches of bok choy
2 handfuls of water spinach
4 handfuls of alfalfa sprouts
1 onion
1/2 cup of pineapple chunks

Method

1. Put all the ingredients for the sauce in a saucepan on a medium heat and stir until the mixture thickens. Set it aside while you chop up your veges.
2. Cook the fish and half the onion for a few minutes.
3. Add the carrot, capsicum, onion, and alfalfa sprouts and cook for a few minutes.
4. Add the bok choy, water spinach, and pineapple. Stir through the sauce.
5. If you’re in the mood make some noodles or rice, if not just start eating.

I’ll post my special fried rice recipe tomorrow if you want to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

