Toasted museli

I love having muesli for breakfast. I used to just buy it from the store, but it’s kind of expensive here (between 11 and 17 pa’anga) so I started making it. Normally I just chuck a heap of yummy things in a container with a bunch of oats, but yesterday I decided to make up a batch of toasted muesli. I used this as a guideline for my toasted muesli.

DSC_0038

The recipe is pretty simple and really satisfying. It’s great because you can play around with whatever you have in your cupboard, and your muesli will be different from batch to batch. I wanted to mix it up when it came to textures so I used a cup of whole rolled oats with two cups of finer ‘quick’ oats, plus a cup of bran cereal. I also used local-made desiccated coconut instead of coconut flakes. I think of these as ‘base’ ingredients. Then you add your nuts (almonds) and seeds (sunflower seeds, and pepitas) and fruit (craisins, dried goji berries, and raisins). All of these dry ingredients go into a bowl together with your spice (cinnamon).

DSC_0039

Mix together your wet ingredients (coconut oil, honey, vanilla essence), then add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients and stir it through until everything is at least a little bit coated. When everything is mixed together spread it onto a baking tray.

DSC_0040

Then slide it into your oven at 150°C. I wanted to use mine as breakfast cereal so I stirred mine occasionally, but if you want it to be snack bites instead don’t stir it and break it into little clumps when it’s cooled down. Bake it for about 30-40 minutes or until it’s nice and golden.

DSCN9046

I tend to eat it with greek yoghurt and fresh fruit.

muesli (2)

also sometimes chia seeds

Ingredients

  • 1 cup bran cereal (I used San Bran)
  • 1 cup of whole rolled oats
  • 2 cups of ‘quick’ oats
  • 1 cup of dessicated coconut
  • 1/2 cup of crushed almonds
  • 1/4 cup of pepitas
  • 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds
  • 1/8 cup of dried goji berries
  • 1/8 cup of craisins
  • 1/4 cup of raisins
  • 2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of honey
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil
  • 1 tsp of vanilla

Method

  1. Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl.
  2. Mix all the wet ingredients in another bowl.
  3. Mix dry and wet ingredients together.
  4. Spread on a baking tray.
  5. Bake in a 150°C oven for 30-40 minutes, or until golden.
3 thoughts on “Toasted museli

Leave a Reply

