Find for a restless mind

Avocado Pesto Pasta

It’s getting towards¬†the end of avocado season here in Tonga. Luckily we have a friend with an avocado tree and were able to get a bunch before the season ends, so look forward to more avocado themed recipes. Luckily Tongan avocados are huge. It’s hard to tell in the photo but each of the avocados is about twice the size of the ones we could buy in Australia.

DSC_0047.JPG

Plus the one i used in tonight’s recipe.

Mum and dad are out for dinner tonight so I was just cooking for me. As such I couldn’t be bothered going to much effort. Tonight’s recipe is inspired by this one. Unfortunately I don’t have a vegetable spiraliser so I used spinach fettuccine instead.

So first up I put the everything in the food processor.

DSC_0044

Then I blended it all together.

DSC_0045

And the ‘pesto’ is done. Now you just cook the pasta, stir the sauce through, and top it with whatever catches your fancy. I went for sunflower seeds, pepitas, and spring onion. I also stirred in some water spinach for some extra nutrients. Then I ate it. I had a heap of pesto left over so I put it in a container in the fridge for later use.

DSC_0051

It goes pretty well with white wine as well.

If we had any chicken in the house I would have loved to add it to the dish (probably grilled with a bit of garlic), but unfortunately we have no chicken so it was a meat free dinner for me tonight.

Ingredients (for the pesto sauce)

  • 1 (very) large avocado (or two normal ones)
  • 2 tbsp of chopped basil
  • 2 tbsp of chopped parsley
  • 2 tbsp of parmesan cheese (which seems to be the only cheese on the island at the moment)
  • 2 tsp of garlic
  • 2 tbsp of oil
  • salt and pepper to taste.

Method

  1. Put all ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. Stir through your pasta of choice.
  3. Top with whatever you feel like.
  4. Enjoy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

